Task Force on Assessments

Charge

The Task Force will explore alternative models for member assessments, with an emphasis on reducing the volatility of the annual assessments and making them more predictable.  This will probably include less (or no) reliance on lending and borrowing activity.  Frequent major changes in e-resource collections has made the item count quite changeable, so there might also be less (or no) reliance on item counts as a determinant of size.  

The Task Force is also charged with retaining a fair and equitable accommodation for differing sizes of institutions.  In addition to FTE students, additional possible measurements for size might be the size of the library’s budget (as determined by reporting to the state or to IPEDS) and/or the Carnegie Classification of the academic institution.

Membership

Members of the task force are appointed by the MOBIUS President, as follows:

Katie Marney, Chair
Library Director, Culver-Stockton College
kmarney@culver.edu

Donna Bacon, Ex Officio
Executive Director, MOBIUS
donna@mobiusconsortium.org 

Regina Cooper
Executive Director, Springfield-Greene County Library
reginac@thelibrary.org 

Eric Deatherage
Director, Crowder College
ericdeatherage@crowder.edu 

Rebecca Hamlett
Director of Library Services, William Jewell College
hamlettr@william.jewell.edu 

Ann C. Riley
Vice Provost and University Librarian, University of Missouri
rileyac@missouri.edu 

Denise Stephens 
University Librarian and Vice Provost, Washington University in St. Louis
dstephens@wustl.edu 

Stephanie Tolson
Dean of Learning Resources and Academic Support, St. Charles Community College
stolson@stchas.edu