MOBIUS Council Meeting Meeting Minutes June 5, 2007

Members Present: Julie Andresen, Amy Arnott, Shirley Baker, Joni Blake, Doug Blansit, Sharon Bostick, Annie Busch, Janet Caruthers, Richard Coughlin, Valerie Darst, Cathye Dierberg, Mollie Dinwiddie, Cynthia Dudenhoffer, Erlene Dudley, Robert Frizzell, Tony Garrett, Angela Gerling, Carol Harper, Linda Harris, Karen Horny, Tesuk Im, Becky Kiel, Mary Largent, Elizabeth MacDonald, Sharon McCaslin, Wendy McGrane, Eugenia McKee, Candice Baldwin, James Pakala, MJ Poehler, Laura Rein, Ann Sampson, Julia Schneider, Joel Shedlofsky, Stephen Stoan, Hugh Stocks, Sharon Upchurch, Ed Walton.

Guests: Candice Baldwin, Georgia Baugh, Tracy Byerly, Jim Dutton, Inas El-Sayed, Lisa Farrell, Christopher Gould, John McCollough, Abbey Rimel, Bonnie Sanguinet, Fran Stumpf, Mark Wahrenbrock.

Proxy List

Jim Pakala for Missouri Baptist University Julia Schneider for Southeast Missouri State University Bob Frizzell for Conception Abbey and Seminary Lisa Braschler for Lincoln University Georgia Baugh for St. Louis University Chris Jocius for University of Missouri-Rolla Corky McCormack for Ozark Technical Community College Laurie Hathman for Rockhurst University Jean Rose for St. Charles Community College Jean Rose for St. Louis College of Pharmacy Sharon Bostick for University of Missouri – Columbia Susan Morgan for Jefferson College Lisa Farrell for East Central College

- I. The meeting was called to order by Richard Coughlin at 1:00PM. He welcomed members and guests. Sharon Bostick read the proxy list. Angela Gerling made a motion to adopt the meeting agenda, the motion was seconded by Karen Horny and the motion passed.
- II. Richard Coughlin noted that the following individuals will be retiring: Jeanne Landgon, Rockhurst; Tesuk Im, Linn State Technical College; Connie

Migliazzo, Metropolitan Community College; Cathy Dierberg, St. Louis Community College and Marty Knorr, Harris-Stowe State University. Sarah Cron, Southeast Missouri State University has accepted another position. They were thanked for their service.

- III. A motion was made by Shirley Baker to accept the June 6, 2006 Council meeting minutes, the motion was seconded by Janet Carothers and the motion passed. A motion was made by Steve Stoan to accept the January 26, 2007 Council meeting minutes as corrected, the motion was seconded by Sharon McCaslin and the motion passed.
- IV. The Nominating Committee members are Bob Frizzell, Stephanie Tolson and Valerie Darst. Ballots were distributed to all members for the election of new Executive Committee members. There was a call from the floor for nominations. Janet Carothers was nominated for the Independent At-Large Representative by Erlene Dudley and the motion was seconded by Linda Harris. Her name was added to the ballot. The ballots were tabulated and the results are Mollie Dinwiddie, Chair Elect; Wendy McGrane, Four Year Public At-Large Representative; Tony Garrett, Independent At-Large Representative and Valerie Darst, Treasurer.
- V. Executive Directors Report – Beth Fisher. Last year MOBIUS reviewed the budget with the University Comptroller. The operating budget is a little over three million dollars. MOBIUS will now have cost centers so expenses can be tracked more closely. Beth Fisher reviewed the policy on the admission of new members to MOBIUS. Discussion followed. Richard Coughlin suggested that the comments be added to the new policy and sent out via email to the Council members for review. A suggestion was made to possibly create another category for new members. The current policy needs to be reworked. A motion was made by Janet Carothers to table this agenda item until the draft policy can be reviewed, the motion was seconded by Hugh Stocks and the motion passed. Beth Fisher discussed the issue of non-MOBIUS institutions using the delivery service without full membership. What would be the cost benefit for MOBIUS? The advantage would be a small supplemental income for MOBIUS but MOBIUS would need to ensure that all costs associated with the service were covered. A comment was made that this type of service could possibly serve the entire State of Missouri and could be one service for everyone. A motion was made by Shirley Baker for the MCO office to work with the State Librarian to investigate a statewide courier service, motion was seconded by Jim Pakala and the motion passed. The Council discussed Rankin Technical College using the courier service and not fulfilling their obligation of MOBIUS membership. The Council discussed terminating their membership. A motion was made by Valerie Darst to terminate Rankin's MOBIUS membership, it was seconded by Erlene Dudley and the motion passed. The Forest Institute of Professional Psychology has applied for MOBIUS membership. Ed Walton made a motion that MOBIUS accept their membership, the motion was seconded by Karen Horny and the motion passed. Beth Fisher announced that she has conducted site visits to 56 member institutions. She will visit the remaining 6 institutions

at a later date. Beth Fisher discussed the categories of the MOBIUS operations/help desk and distributed a handout on the staff professional activities for the FY07.

- VI. Richard Coughlin noted that the Executive Committee was interested in submitting a request for funding to the State of Missouri. Beth Fisher discussed the new item request for unrestricted educational and general monies that could be used for a one time purchase and ongoing maintenance. She reviewed the FY08 MOBIUS calendar which includes funding submission deadline dates. There will be further discussion on the FY09 request for State funding at the September 7, 2007 Council meeting. MOBIUS needs to present a clear image to the legislature. Beth Fisher will re-draft the proposal and re-submit it to the Council at the fall meeting.
- VII. Presentations were made by John McCollough from III on Encore and Tracy Byerly from MLNC on OCLC World Cat.
- VIII. Advisory Committee Reports- Reports were made on catalog design by Denise Pakala, Margaret Conroy, State Library; Jim Pakala, Bridges cluster and Shirley Baker, Washington University. Written reports were submitted by Felicity Dykas, MACPAC Chair and Lynn Cline and Stephanice Tolson, Cochairs for MCMAC.
- IX. The Executive Committee meeting dates for FY08 will be July 13, September 6, November 9, January 18, March 14 and May 9. Council meetings for FY08 will be September 7, February 1 and June 3.
- X. A motion was made by Tony Garrett to adjourn the meeting, the motion was seconded by Cathye Dierberg and the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted by Susan Hatfield June 12, 2007