

March 12, 1999

MOBIUS Executive Committee Official Minutes

The MOBIUS Executive Committee met Friday, March 12, 1999 at 9:30 a.m. at the CBHE headquarters in Jefferson City.

Present were: Cathye Dierberg, Erlene Rickerson Dudley, Joan Clarke, Steve Stoan, John Young, Shirley Baker, Julia Schneider, Martha Alexander, Valerie Darst, Sara Parker, Eldon Wallace, George Rickerson, Robin Kespohl, and Mark Wahrenbrock.

The Agenda for the meeting was adopted. The Minutes of the January 22, 1999 meeting were approved as presented.

Eldon Wallace gave a legislative update concerning the funding request for MOBIUS. The Re-appropriation request for current year funds will be coming up for consideration soon. Sara Parker and Eldon reviewed the status of the Database Licensing appropriation request that is part of the Secretary of State's budget request (HB12).

Cathye Dierberg, Chair, announced that Hannibal LaGrange was the newest member institution in MOBIUS.

The "Duties of the Executive Director" and the "Service Policy Agreement between the MOBIUS Consortium Office and Members of the MOBIUS Consortium" attachments to the Host Agreement were reviewed and changes made after the MOBIUS Council meeting were noted. The Executive Committee approved the documents upon a motion by Erlene Dudley and second by Shirley Baker.

Executive Director's Report: George Rickerson

The cluster visits held to date were reviewed by George, Robin and Mark. The need to name each cluster was noted by the Executive Committee.

The order of implementation for the common library system was discussed extensively by the Executive Committee after reviewing the Executive Director's recommendation. Valerie Darst moved that the Executive Committee approve the Executive Director's recommendation that Central East, Southwest and St. Louis Red clusters be the first three clusters implemented for the common library system project. It was further stated in the motion that the institutional survey information be updated and upon completion of the update, the scoring for implementation be based on the top three libraries in each cluster. Then the MOBIUS Executive Director recommends the

remaining cluster implementations to the Executive Committee officers (Cathye, Shirley and Valerie) for approval and then to the Executive Committee for approval. A time frame for the remaining implementation will also be part of the Executive Director's recommendation. Joan Clarke seconded the motion. Motion approved.

George reviewed the status of negotiations with Innovative (III) concerning the purchase of the software for the common library system. Joe Ford and George have both reviewed the III proposal and the University Board of Curators will review the proposal at its March meeting. George will continue to work on the contract with III.

Joan Clarke presented a report from the MOBIUS Delivery System Task Force (Members of Task Force: Charlie Kemp, Sara Parker, Eldon Wallace, Robin Kespohl, and Joan Clarke). The delivery service will operate five days per week. Martha Alexander moved that participation in the delivery system be mandatory for members of MOBIUS and that the sliding scale used to apportion the operational costs also be used to apportion the delivery system costs. Shirley Baker seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The Executive Committee also decided not to subsidize the delivery system with appropriated funds. It is recommended by the Task Force that the delivery system begin as soon as possible to benefit all MOBIUS members.

Members of the Nominating Committee were announced by Erlene: Kathleen Finnegan from Avila and Richard Coughlin from Truman State will serve with Erlene.

Due to the lateness of the hour, the remaining agenda items were postponed until the next Executive Committee meeting to be held May 3, 1999 at 9:30 a.m. at the CBHE headquarters. The next Council meeting will be held May 21.

Respectfully submitted,

Valerie Darst, Secretary